Skip to content ↓

Curriculum Overview

We endeavour to offer all our pupils an outstanding curriculum that equips them to meet the challenges they will face in the future, so maximising their life chances.  We also strive to ensure our pupils leave St Regis as confident and independent individuals who are able to adapt to the many challenges in adult life.
There are three elements to St Regis curriculum: the taught curriculum, the extra-curricular and enrichment curriculum and the personal social curriculum experienced at the school.

Key Stage 3

During Key Stage 3 (Years 7, 8 and 9), all students study the National Curriculum. Priority is given to the core subjects, therefore almost half of the teaching time is given to English, Maths and Science whilst ensuring that tiem is given for the creative, humanities and technology subjects that provide the breadth of study for all. We have 60 periods in the two-week timetable - this table below shows the number of periods given to each subject your child may study. In Year 9, the 'creative' is a carousel and all students study Design Technology, Art, Drama, Music and Computer Science in this allocation of periods.

Subject Year 7 Year 8 Subject Year 9
Art 3 3 Creative 8
Computer Science 2 2 English 10
Drama 3 2 Geography 5
English 9 10 History 5
Geography 4 3 Maths 10
History 3 4 MFL (Spanish) 4
Maths 9 9 PE 4
MFL (Spanish) 4 4 PSHCE 2
Music 2 2 RE 3
PE 4 4 Science 9
PSHCE 2 2    
RE 3 3    
Science 9 9    
Technology 3 3    
Total 60 60 Total 60

Computer Science

This is taught in Year 7, 8 and 9. Digital IT BTEC is offered at Key Stage 4 as an option subject.


PSHCE is taught by a team of teachers and is timetabled at different times for KS3 and Years 10, 11 and 6th Form.

In Years 7, 8 and 9, students are taught in a top set 'K Stream' or mixed ability teaching group for all subjects apart from Maths where they are taught in ability groups after the first half term in the Autumn. In Year 9, students are taught ins treamed ability groups in Science.

Key stage 4

The Key Stage 4 curriculum is taught in Years 10 and 11. At this stage pupils have some choice in which subjects they study and are guided in the choices they make. All pupils follow a core curriculum and then are guided on to one of three pathways. Two thirds of the timetabled cycle is given to the teaching of the core curriculum.

Core Curriculum

All pupils follow the core curriculum of English language, English Literature, Mathematics, Science, either combined science or triple sciences and Religious Studies.  Pupils will sit GCSE exams in these subjects. The core curriculum also includes PE and PSHE but there are no exams in these courses unless they have chosen PE as an option subject.

Key Stage 4 Options

GCSE Qualifications

  • Art
  • Business
  • Design Technology
  • Food Technolgoy
  • Spanish
  • Geography
  • History
  • Psychology
  • Photography

BTEC/GCSE Vocational Qualifications

  • Health & Social Care
  • Digital Information Techology
  • PE (Sport)
  • Music (Performing Arts)
  • Drama (Performing Arts)
  • Dance (Performing Arts)